New Georges, founded in 1992, is a strategically small
company with a national reputation as a vigorous home for
theatrically adventurous artists (who are women*).  Through
productions of highly theatrical new plays, several varieties
of play and artist development programs, and our indispensable workspace, The Room, we support the largest
ongoing working community of women theater artists
in New York City.

By the numbers:
45 world or New York premieres of new American plays
21 new-play commissions (18 produced)
11 festivals of new work
210 affiliated artists (playwrights, directors, actors, designers)
45 artists served in core programs annually
Countless new works developed in The Room
Honors for New Georges, its plays and its people include
3 Obie Awards, The Lilly Award, the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize and the Kesselring Prize

Current activities:
– a producing season, tending to consist of two world
premiere plays
– the provision of subsidized workspace for affiliated artists
in The Room, our workspace
The New Georges Jam, a collaboration-based “performance gym” for early-career theatermakers
The Audrey Residencies, a year-long program that pairs
three weeks spent making or developing a new-play
project in The Room with a community component that brings the full resident group together
– New Georges Supported Productions, for which we
provide mentorship, resources and an institutional platform
to affiliated artists producing their work independently
– additional new play and community development in
The Room and out, including deadline readings, playwright/
director jumpstart and project-specific space grants.

*and female-identified, trans, non-binary and gender-nonconforming artists

New Georges is committed to diversity, equity and inclusion
in its values and programming.

recent funders include The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
New York Theater Program, The Howard Gilman Foundation, Emma A. Sheafer Charitable Trust, New York Community Trust, Beech Street Foundation, The Shubert Foundation, The Venturous Theater Fund of Tides Foundation, Time Warner Foundation, The Mary Duke Biddle Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, NYC Department of Cultural Affairs, New York State Council on the Arts, Axe-Houghton Foundation, The A.R.T./New York Creative Space Grant Supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, The Edith Lutyens and Norman Bel Geddes Design Enhancement Fund, Off Broadway Angels, John Golden Fund, Barbara Bell Cumming Foundation, The Lucille Lortel Foundation and Dramatists Guild Fund.

New Georges is a member of the Alliance of Resident Theatres/New York (ART/New York), the service organization for New York City’s not-for-profit theatres; Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national service
organization; and a participant in The Indie Theater Fund, a foundation that supports the independent theater community in New York City.

click here for the BIGGER PICTURE: New Georges in depth

on Facebook

on Twitter 

on YouTube

Susan Bernfield, Producing Artistic Director
Jaynie Saunders Tiller, Managing Director
Deadria Harrington, Producing/Management Associate

Sonya Sobieski, New Play Advocate
Emily Owens PR, Press Representative

deputy artistic director emeritus Sarah Cameron Sunde
institutional graphic design ALRdesign.com
many photos/press rep emeritus Jim Baldassare

board of directors  Jessica Bauman, Catherine Bernath, Susan Bernfield, Morgan Brill, Annie Chanler, Ellen Pollock, Miriam Weiner, Cheryl Whaley
kitchen cabinet Alexandra Aron, Jessica Bauman, Jess Chayes, Cusi Cram, Emily DeVoti, Laura Eason, Catherine Filloux, Jennie Greer, Emma Griffin, Lauren Helpern, Anne Kauffman, Boo Killebrew, April Matthis, Emily Morse, Rebecca Patterson, Rehana Lew Mirza, Charise Castro Smith, Sonya Sobieski, Beatrice Terry (in memoriam), Kathryn Walat
new georges jam 16/17 Sarah Krohn, Colette Robert (co-leaders), Tara Ahmadeinejad, Kathleen Amshoff, Helen Banner, Kim Davies, Sarah Einspanier, Tasha Gordon-Solmon, Morgan Green, Sarah Hughes, Lindsay Joelle, Julia May Jonas, Krista Knight, Kristine Haruna Lee, Daaimah Mubashshir, Christina Roussos, Zarina Shea, Caitlin Saylor Stephens, Caitlin Sullivan, Lisa Szolovits, Nicole A. Watson, Kat Yen
audrey residents 16/17  Eliza Bent & Annie Tippe; Lauren Feldman & Larissa Lury; Jacqueline Goldfinger & Katherine M. Carter; Patricia Ione Lloyd & Martha Banta; Kate Scelsa; Andrea Thome & Lisa Rothe; Giselle Ty

office: 25 Broadway, 9th Floor, NYC 10004
workspace: The Room/New Georges, 520 8th Avenue, 3rd floor
theater:   happily nomadic  recent haunts: The ART/New York Theatres, The BrickThe Bushwick StarrDixon PlaceNew Ohio Theatre, HERE, Irondale Center,3LD Art & Technology Center
phone/fax: 646.336.8077

page header & front page photo credits:  Snapshot: Christina Kirk, Gibson Frazier, Monique Vukovic, Judith Greentree in GOD’S EAR  — Jim Baldassare; Bigger Picture: Kristin Griffith in STRETCH (a fantasia) — Jim Baldassare; Projects/Events: Christina Pumariega, Carolyn Baeumler, Teresa Avia Lim in ALICEGRACEANON  — Marcelo Anez; Our Community: Hubert Point-du Jour, Michael Milligan in NIGHTLANDS — Geoff Green; Scrapbook: Gretchen Lee Krich, Monica Appleby, April Matthis in ANNA BELLA EEMA  — Jim Bernfield; Work With Us: Dan Illian, Elizabeth Norment inDEAD CITY Jim Baldassare; Hear From Us: Boo Killebrew inMOTEL CHERRY — Heather Phelps-Lipton; Support Us: Ayesha Ngaujah, Linda Powell, Eisa Davis in ANGELA’S MIXTAPE — Jim Baldassare.



tdfStages tweets: “When we made this film about the exciting work at @newgeorges, we needed Pop Art style to match their pizzazz.” Click here to watch!  tdf made this film as part of their “Meet the Theatre” series, directed by … Continue reading